Where Are They Now? – Danou Duifhuizen

 

What did you study and when did you graduate?

I did a MA Comparative Literature at Goldsmiths and graduated in 2014

2) What did you do as a CEN8 volunteer?

I helped out during the junior Saturday Club, Studio8 (now CEN8Kids).  I also helped a bit during the conceptual stage of  ‘A Year in a Night’, and I was one of the artists that contributed to the 2014 CEN8 calendar. The calendar was an especially interesting experience, as I worked together with other artists and with printers. I had never realised how much work went into creating a calendar, but I am particularly pleased that I managed and I am still very proud of what I helped create. I don’t think I would have gotten that experience at my relatively young age without CEN8.

3) What have you been up to since leaving Goldsmiths?

I worked as a temp for a year, both in London and in the Netherlands. In both cases it was manning a telephone in order to gather interviews, and other administrative work. My first job in London was as a direct result of the connections I had made via CEN8: I had the opportunity to arrange a job interview with the recruiter before the position was posted online. Gill especially was a great help and gave me tips that lowered my anxiety before going to job interviews. The resulting work experience I got definitely helped boost my self confidence and has served me in all my following temp jobs. And I continued learning how to set aside my insecurities in order to present my professional side. I’m currently getting a teaching degree in English at a Dutch university.

4) What was the most useful thing you learnt by being a volunteer/student?

When it comes to interacting with groups of children, you have to have a clear plan of what activities you want to lead. But you also have to be completely flexible as those plans will not probably go as planned. It’s a contradicting situation but a necessary one.

5) Advice for any student currently at the university

If you have the time, volunteer at a cause that speaks to you. The experiences you will have while volunteering will definitely be worth it.

6) What you’re hoping to do in the future

I’m hoping to become a published novelist.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

